the Nexas Quartet

Based in Sydney Australia, the Nexas Quartet is focused on promoting the musical plurality of the saxophone, showcasing its versatility and ability to cross genres. This unique approach has enabled the ensemble to perform throughout Australia and internationally, displaying the diversity of the repertoire.

The ensemble regularly performs diverse repertoire that reflects their artistic direction ranging from transcriptions, standard and contemporary repertoire, to collaborations with theatre companies and premiering and commissioning new works. 2013 saw the group perform at the prestigious APRA Awards as well as at the heart of Australia in Uluru for Darwin Symphony’s ‘Symphony at Uluru’. 2014 marked a banner year for the ensemble as they embarked on their inaugural annual concert series. Sell out concerts have been the hallmark of the series including collaborations with some of Australia’s finest musicians. Guest artists have included: Gerard Willems AM (pianist), Daniel Rojas (pianist), Nicky Crayson (jazz vocalist), David Theak (jazz saxophonist and bandleader), Frank Celata (SSO clarinettist) and Peter Coleman-Wright (opera singer). Other activities in 2015 are a collaboration with composer and sound artist Drew Crawford on the Melbourne Theatre Company’s production of ‘Jumpy’ as well as performing Elena  Kats-Chernin’s ‘From Anna Magdalena’s Notebook’ at the World Saxophone Congress in Strasbourg, France.

Being open-minded to new and innovative music, ‘Nexas’ have had many Australian works commissioned and dedicated to them by composers such as Lachlan Skipworth, Amanda Cole, Anthony Moles, David Slater and Marcus Whale.

Adios Nonino

La Cumparsita